↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Regulating the Media Part I

PEMRA is under a lot of flack recently. It is not something unique. In Canada the regulatory body is called CRTC, in the States FCC. Here are their mandates”

CRTC Mandate

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) was established by Parliament in 1968. It is an independent public authority constituted under the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. C-22, as amended) and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

The CRTC is vested with the authority to regulate and supervise all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system, as well as to regulate telecommunications common carriers and service providers that fall under federal jurisdiction. The CRTC derives its regulatory authority over broadcasting from the Broadcasting Act (S.C. 1991, c. 11, as amended). Its telecommunications regulatory powers are derived from the Telecommunications Act (S.C. 1993, c. 38, as amended) and the Bell Canada Act (S.C. 1987, c.19 as amended).

Date Modified: 2007-10-05


Down to the South there is FCC.

About the FCC

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency, directly responsible to Congress. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.


The FCC is directed by five Commissioners appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for 5-year terms, except when filling an unexpired term. The President designates one of the Commissioners to serve as Chairperson. Only three Commissioners may be members of the same political party. None of them can have a financial interest in any Commission-related business.

As the chief executive officer of the Commission, the Chairman delegates management and administrative responsibility to the Managing Director. The Commissioners supervise all FCC activities, delegating responsibilities to staff units and Bureaus.

Bureaus and Offices

The Commission staff is organized by function. There are seven operating Bureaus and ten Staff Offices. The Bureaus’ responsibilities include: processing applications for licenses and other filings; analyzing complaints; conducting investigations; developing and implementing regulatory programs; and taking part in hearings. Our Offices provide support services. Even though the Bureaus and Offices have their individual functions, they regularly join forces and share expertise in addressing Commission issues.


And in Pakistan there is PEMRA.


Improve the standards of information, education and entertainment ;

Enlarge the choice available to the people of Pakistan in the media for news, current affairs, religious knowledge, art, culture, science, technology, economic development, social sector concerns, music, sports, drama and other subjects of public and national interest ;

Facilitate the devolution of responsibility and power to the grass roots by improving the access of the people to mass media at the local and community level ;

Ensure accountability, transparency and good governance by optimization the free flow of information.



Post a Comment

<< Home