↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Thursday, July 09, 2009

Chaudhrys’ group sweeps polls as dissidents boycott

You may be pessimistic about this news story. Perhaps you should be. But think about this. Only Jamaat and PML Q have held elections. A majority wants a functioning democracy in Pakistan. But outside of these two parties, can you name any other party that has held elections? Altaf? Imran? Mu'llah or Maulana or Mr. this or that? ~~t

Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi and Chaudhry Zaheeruddin were re-elected president and general secretary for Punjab, Amir Muqam and Mushtaq Ghani for the NWFP, Ghous Bakhsh Mehr for president of Sindh, Jam Yousuf for Balochistan and Rizwan Sadiq Khan and Dr Hasan Sarosh president and general secretary for the federal capital. Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain supervised the polling in Lahore, while Mushahid Hussain looked after the NWFP polls held in Abbottabad and later flew to Karachi to oversee the polling in Sindh.


Post a Comment

<< Home